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Scope of Problem

Jailing Debtors  

Permanent Debtors

Court Efficiency 



Fines and Fees as Revenue

Forty-two percent of city finance officers said that they 

increased fee levels in 2015
-City Fiscal Conditions survey published by the National League of Cities

Rocky Mount, NC (pop. 60,000) budgeted for $70,300 in 

Police Revenues in 2016, a twenty-seven percent increase 

from the city's actual police revenues in 2014



Funding Pressures

NC courts are centrally funded by the state

Some judges say they feel pressured on cost waivers 
Source: NC Lawyers Weekly, 3/31/16

NC Constitution (Art. IX, §7) requires proceeds of local fines 

collected for breach of “penal laws” go to schools

Relatively easy for cities and counties to circumvent                      
Source: UNC School of Government blog



Recommendation:

Study compliance with the North Carolina 

Constitution’s provision requiring that fines and 

penalties collected in counties for “breach of the 

penal laws” go exclusively to the schools



Bearden’s Willfulness Inquiry

Jailing individuals for failure to pay fines held 

unconstitutional in Bearden v. Georgia, 461 

U.S. 660 (1983)



Willfulness Inquiry - State v. Jones, 78 N.C. App. 507 (1985)

COURT: Well, do you want to testify about your failure to pay this money?

MR. JONES: I've just been out of work, sir. If I just had some time to catch up the 

payments.

COURT: Anything else?

MR. JONES: No, sir.

COURT: The Court finds that he willfully violated the terms of his probation and 

Orders the sentence into execution.



Recommendation:

Review and more closely monitor how Bearden's 

willfulness test is applied throughout the state, 

and consider putting statutory restrictions on its 

application if a review finds that abuses are 

occurring



Unwaivable Public Defender Fee

In North Carolina, courts must order convicted 

defendants in criminal cases to pay a fee for 

public defender representation

Source: N.C.G.S. § 7A-455.1



N.C.G.S. §7A-455.1(b) (“The mandatory sixty-

dollar fee may not be remitted or revoked by the 

court”).



Recommendation:

Make public defender appointment fees 

waivable, bringing North Carolina law on this 

in line with the practice used in other states



The (Kinston, NC) Free Press - 3/27/2016

“The only time I ever see people incarcerated for not paying 

money would be for child support situations,” Delbridge 

said. “At some point you’ve just got to do something. In 

other arenas there’s obviously an ability to pay, but they’ve 

chosen a car payment . . . instead of the court fee.” -- Matt 

Delbridge, D.A., Wayne, Lenoir, and Greene counties



Child Support

By 2014, there was $812 million in child support due, a cost 

to NC of $140 million

Source: 2014 State by State Data on Child Support Collections, National Conference of State Legislatures (2015)

29% of the income of parents eligible for child support are 

below the federal level of poverty

Source: 2013 Office of Child Support Enforcement, Annual Report to Congress

North Carolina Cost-Effectiveness Ratio in 2015 was 5.07

Source: 2015 Office of Child Support Enforcement, Preliminary Report



Contempt & Child Support

NC law provides the courts with remedies to enforce and secure the 

child support payment

Including, the possibility of a contempt order

N.C.G.S. § 110-131: Compelling disclosure of information regarding 

the non-supporting responsible parent of a child receiving public 

assistance.



Recommendation:

Consider statutory restrictions on jailing 

defendants for failure to pay child 

support



Driver’s Licenses

In NC, driver’s license must be revoked for failure to pay a 

“fine, penalty, or court cost ordered by the court” 

Source: N.C.G.S. § 20-24.1

Licenses must also be revoked for willful failure to fulfill 

probation conditions 

Source: N.C.G.S. §143B-708(e)



Driver’s Licenses

American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators, 

Best Practices Guide to Reducing Suspended Drivers

NC Supreme Court has said suspension and revocation 

intended for public protection, not punishment, and 

suspension and revocation are meant to ensure 

compliance with traffic laws -Honeycutt v. Scheidt, 254 N.C. 607, 

119 S.E. 2d 777 (1961)



Recommendation

Don’t suspend or revoke drivers’ licenses for 

reasons unrelated to driving safety (AAMVA)



Civil Gideon

Lack of a “civil Gideon” may exacerbate 

previous problems

Role of Legal Aid



Recommendation:

Support private organizations that seek to fill 

the void left by a lack of a civil Gideon 

requirement in the law. 



Thank you


